Tag Archives: timeline

Latest Entries

Limit audience for old posts on your Facebook Timeline

Facebook 150x150 logoFacebook has removed the Timeline search privacy feature “Who can look up your Timeline by name”. The removal of this feature was started in 2012, with people who were not using the “Who can look me up?” privacy setting. This setting allows you to hide from searches performed by anyone who is not a friend or friends of friends.

Facebook claimed few people used it. This setting though, only applied to Search, so if anyone wanted to find my name in a Facebook post they could jump to my Timeline. I was one who does use this feature, but not this feature is no longer available to me. This move, is all to do with the new Graph Search tool, which is claimed will allow Facebook users more natural language searches. Graph Search doesn’t work well if “Who can look up your Timeline by name” is enabled. This search improvement helps you the user but it also provides valuable profile analytics to Facebook. After all, they need to monetize from you as you are using a free service, and not forgetting they are also a US stock market trading company.

What should you do?

Posted in facebook, privacy | Tagged , | 1

Facebook removes Timeline search privacy setting

Facebook 150x150 logoFacebook is removing the feature “Who can look up your Timeline by name”. The removal of this feature was started last year, with people who were not using the “Who can look me up?” privacy setting. This setting allows you to hide from searches performed by anyone who is not a friend or friends of friends.

Facebook claimed few people used it. This setting though, only applied to Search, so if anyone wanted to find my name in a Facebook post they could jump to my Timeline. I was one who does use this feature, so it’s still enabled for me as of now but over the next couple of weeks I will see a reminder that it will be removed.

This move, is all to do with the new Graph Search tool, which is claimed will allow Facebook users more natural language searches. Graph Search doesn’t work well if “Who can look up your Timeline by name” is enabled. This search improvement helps you the user but it also provides valuable profile analytics to Facebook. After all, they need to monetize from you as you are using a free service, and not forgetting they are also a US stock market trading company.

Posted in facebook, malware, privacy | Tagged , , | 0

Manage your Facebook Privacy and Sharing settings

Facebook 150x150 logoFacebook has started to rollout its updated privacy and sharing settings, which they hope will allow users to have much greater control over the content they publish. Facebook which has had some legacy problems with privacy over the past few years, is wanting users to understand more about how they can control their information.

Facebook is not unique when it comes to struggling to get it’s user base to fully understand and interact with controlling their privacy. One possible reason for lack of privacy awareness is that it’s users don’t actually care because they want the world to see how important and popular they are. This isn’t actually that new to human nature! So what changes are Facebook making?

Facebook is making three significant changes

1. Privacy Shortcuts – this is a new option which will allow users to access their Privacy control from whatever page they are on:

How to use Privacy Shortcuts

  • Click on the lock icon (which is next to the sprocket) next to the Home button
  • A drop down will appear > Privacy Shortcuts > which will list > Who can see my stuff?; Who can contact me?; Who can contact me?; and, How do I stop someone from bothering me?
Posted in facebook, privacy | Tagged , | 1

Facebook photos can take 30 days to be removed

Privacy questions were raised a few years ago (and by myself) about how Facebook was preventing users’ photos from being completely deleted. Previously when users’ deleted their photos, the URLs would still have been accessible.  The main reason for this was that the Facebook photo storage system didn’t delete cached images (caching images on the Web is another problem altogether). This meant that any photos you thought you’d deleted were in fact still on the photo server, in some cases for years.

The Content Delivery Network (CDN) links now have a 30-day maximum age rule which means any photos you delete will be completely removed within the 30 day window. I’ve tested this out to be sure this works. If you were to delete a photo today the direct links expired in 2-3 days. I understand that the 30-day rule has been in place since February of this year (2012).

It’s important to note that when a user deletes photos, it will be removed immediately so no other Facebook users can see them. The 30-day maximum age rule discussed above only applies to the cached images stored on the CDN. I’m a little perplexed right now as to why Facebook cannot delete photos completely (including from cache) within seconds like Twitter for example. Why 30 days Facebook? Ok, so I can hope in vain for a response. 🙂

Posted in facebook, privacy | Tagged , | 1

Facebook Timeline will be compulsory from August 8

Facebook users will now be forced into using Timeline from August 8th. From the point when a user clicks ‘get Timeline’, they will still have seven days to play around with their new profile. This clock will depend on the rollout and when they log in. I first reported on Timeline and in particular it’s useful privacy features back in December. Note: Timeline will not change your current privacy settings.

What is Facebook Timeline? Your timeline is your collection of the photos, stories, and experiences that tell your story. You will be able to add a cover; edit your basic info; jump to the past; view your activity log; see highlights from each month; star stories you want to highlight; add life events; update your status; view and add photos and share your app activity. Let us now take a look at the Timeline Activity Log.

Timeline Activity Log

One feature that really interested me was ‘view your activity log’. This allows you to easily control/manage your Timeline on a month by month basis (including history) – a very useful feature. You can adjust the privacy of your posts, and see settings for posts created by your friends. Additionally and most important for me was the ability (and much easier than before) to hide, allow or feature a story on my timeline.

Posted in facebook, privacy | Tagged , | 0