Tag Archives: ios8

Latest Entries

How to locate and protect your lost or stolen iPhone

findmyiphoneIf you lose your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch and you don’t have another iOS device, you will find the following information very useful. If you intend on removing your device from your Apple account, Activation Lock will be turned off, which will allow someone else to activate and use your device.

If you decide to erase your device, you should contact your wireless carrier so they can disable your account and prevent calls, texts and data use.

The following will only work if you enabled Find My iPhone (including iPad or iPod touch).

  • Sign in to https://icloud.com/find on a Mac or PC with your Apple ID and Password (Don’t check ‘Keep me signed in’}
  • You will also get an email from Apple to tell you about your iCloud sign in
  • Click > All Devices – you will see a list of iOS devices that are either offline or connected to the Internet
  • Select a device to view its location on a map. You can play a sound, activate Lost Mode or Erase iPhone
  • Turn on Lost Mode – this will allow you to remotely lock your device with a passcode, display a custom message with your phone number on your missing device’s Lock screen, and monitor your device’s location*
Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , | 0

How to use Find My iPhone Activation Lock

findmyiphoneiOS Find My iPhone includes a feature called Activation Lock. This is designed to prevent anyone apart from you from using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch in the event it is lost or stolen.

Activation Lock is securely stored on Apple’s activation server’s and links to your device. Your password will be required before anyone can turn off Find My iPhone, erase your device, or reactivate and use your device.

Activation Lock is enabled automatically when you use Find My iPhone on a device running iOS 7 or later. Find My iPhone Activation Lock requires your Apple ID and password before anyone else can do the following:

  • Turn off Find My iPhone on your device
  • Erase your device
  • Reactivate and use your device

Find My iPhone can be used to erase your device remotely, however Activation Lock will still be activated after a device wipe. This adds an additional layer of protection in the event someone attempts to reactivate your device without your permission. Also, if you plan on giving away your device you should turn off Find My iPhone. This ensures that the new owner can use your device as normal.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , | 0

iTunes credit balance iOS reminder issue

iOS9Once you redeem iTunes Gift Cards or iTunes Gifts on iOS (tested on iOS 9.x), your updated balance will appear in your iTunes Store account. When you purchase content, iTunes will deduct funds from the credit until it is depleted.

Note: You can also do the following through iTunes, the Mac App Store or the iBooks Store.

Checking your balance on iOS:

  • Tap iTunes Store, App Store or iBooks
  • In iBooks, tap Featured at the bottom of the screen
  • Scroll to the bottom of page
  • If you are signed in, tap Sign-In and enter your Apple ID and password
  • If you have a credit balance, you’ll see it below your Apple ID*

*If you are not in credit, the credit balance will not be visible.

If you have insufficient store credit to purchase content, iTunes does not prompt you with a notification reminder upon clicking to purchase. Permitting customers to purchase content without notifying them at checkout that their iTunes payment credit or debit card is about to be debited the outstanding difference, could be perceived as deliberate by design.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , , | 0

Privacy and security risks of using iOS 8 Family Sharing

Familysharing_iosApple recently launched the Family Sharing feature which is an attempt to allow families (up to 6 people) to share their device content with family members. But this comes with security and privacy risks.

The Family Sharing feature allows families that share together the opportunity to wipe all the families’ devices at the same time as well as track each other’s locations (and this is regardless of age). In my opinion, you shouldn’t opt into Family Sharing and location sharing.

If you have opted in to Family Sharing you should read this post. Family Sharing works with Find My iPhone and Find My Friends on devices running iOS 8. Family Sharing oddly allows to denote specific accounts as belonging to the 12-and-under age group, which means you can’t prevent location sharing services and other features from working across every device in a group. Surprised? Adults should be able to see everything, and children should not, unless the adult allows it.

If a family member disables Share My Location > Settings > iCloud, this will stop group members from finding everyone in the group. By doing this you will stop one adult from tracking the other. You can imagine the scenarios!

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged | 0

How to enable iCloud and iTunes two-step verification

icloudOver the past few weeks you may have seen the celebrity photo leaks story regarding iCloud data being hacked. Apple has recently addressed this hacking issue by introducing an additional layer of security called ‘two-factor authentication’.

Two-factor authentication uses your mobile device to authenticate any changes that are made to your login credentials i.e. password and or if a bad actor guesses the answer to your security question.

To be able to setup this authentication you will need to visit this URL: https://appleid.apple.com/ where you will be able to create an Apple ID and manage your Apple ID. You also have the option to reset your password.

  • Click > Manage your Apple ID (you will be presented with the sign in screen)
  • Next > enter your Apple ID password (you may be presented with ‘Improve Your Password’ screen)
  • You should reset your password. As you type in your password it will tell you whether it’s too short; weak; moderate; strong etc. Now you are logged in.
  • Choose > Password and Security (this can be found from the navigation options on the left)
  • You will now be asked to verify your security questions. Once done, scroll down to the > Two-Step Verification section
Posted in apple, identity theft: identity fraud, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , | 0