Tag Archives: ios7

Latest Entries

How to use Find My iPhone Activation Lock

findmyiphoneiOS Find My iPhone includes a feature called Activation Lock. This is designed to prevent anyone apart from you from using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch in the event it is lost or stolen.

Activation Lock is securely stored on Apple’s activation server’s and links to your device. Your password will be required before anyone can turn off Find My iPhone, erase your device, or reactivate and use your device.

Activation Lock is enabled automatically when you use Find My iPhone on a device running iOS 7 or later. Find My iPhone Activation Lock requires your Apple ID and password before anyone else can do the following:

  • Turn off Find My iPhone on your device
  • Erase your device
  • Reactivate and use your device

Find My iPhone can be used to erase your device remotely, however Activation Lock will still be activated after a device wipe. This adds an additional layer of protection in the event someone attempts to reactivate your device without your permission. Also, if you plan on giving away your device you should turn off Find My iPhone. This ensures that the new owner can use your device as normal.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , | 0

iTunes credit balance iOS reminder issue

iOS9Once you redeem iTunes Gift Cards or iTunes Gifts on iOS (tested on iOS 9.x), your updated balance will appear in your iTunes Store account. When you purchase content, iTunes will deduct funds from the credit until it is depleted.

Note: You can also do the following through iTunes, the Mac App Store or the iBooks Store.

Checking your balance on iOS:

  • Tap iTunes Store, App Store or iBooks
  • In iBooks, tap Featured at the bottom of the screen
  • Scroll to the bottom of page
  • If you are signed in, tap Sign-In and enter your Apple ID and password
  • If you have a credit balance, you’ll see it below your Apple ID*

*If you are not in credit, the credit balance will not be visible.

If you have insufficient store credit to purchase content, iTunes does not prompt you with a notification reminder upon clicking to purchase. Permitting customers to purchase content without notifying them at checkout that their iTunes payment credit or debit card is about to be debited the outstanding difference, could be perceived as deliberate by design.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , , | 0

How to block closed iPhone apps from tracking you

iPhone5sMost iPhone users will be unaware that apps that are ‘closed’ can constantly track the users’ locations. Recently the Foursquare app (this will be one of many in time) was updated to allow the company to track users’ GPS coordinates anytime the phone is powered on. Call this ‘persistent tracking’.

I for one am not a Foursquare user, but installed this latest release for testing over the past two weeks. The previous Foursquare release required users’ to turn on location-tracking. Now they require you to ‘opt-out’ by changing a setting within the app. My first observation is that developing apps to persistently track users movements and behaviours should be an option on install. They also will impact battery performance. My test results (private) proved that it had an impact of 5-10% additional drain but this was only using Wi-Fi.

My second observation is ‘big data’. There is no doubting the obvious monetisation opportunities for ad publishers and networks with persistently tracking users even when the app is closed. So what can you do to stop apps from accessing iOS location APIs and tracking your every movement when open as well as closed? Simple.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , , | 0

How to block calls texts and contacts on Apple iOS

iPhone5sIf you own an iPhone and you receive nuisance calls and texts, this might be from, scammers, insurance salespeople or promotional companies, then you will be interested in learning how to block them.

iOS (this is the iPhone operating system) has the ability to also block calls and texts over FaceTime and iMessages. In the event you block a call, this will be directed to your voicemail (where you can delete the unwanted calls) while FaceTime calls ring on the callers end. If a blocked user sends you an Message, it will be blocked and will appear on the callers caller display as having been delivered – it will appear as being sent to them too.

You can block anyone from the Phone, FaceTime or Messages app.

Blocking from the phone app
The Phone app – in recent tabs, tap the ‘i’ next to your entry you want to block, then scroll down to the bottom and atop ‘Block this Caller’ and then confirm. You can also do this from the Contacts tabby selecting the person you want to block and scrolling down to tap ‘Block this Caller’.

Posted in apple, mobile, privacy | Tagged , , | 0