Category Archives: apple
If you lose your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch and you don’t have another iOS device, you will find the following information very useful. If you intend on removing your device from your Apple account, Activation Lock will be turned off, which will allow someone else to activate and use your device.
If you decide to erase your device, you should contact your wireless carrier so they can disable your account and prevent calls, texts and data use.
The following will only work if you enabled Find My iPhone (including iPad or iPod touch).
- Sign in to https://icloud.com/find on a Mac or PC with your Apple ID and Password (Don’t check ‘Keep me signed in’}
- You will also get an email from Apple to tell you about your iCloud sign in
- Click > All Devices – you will see a list of iOS devices that are either offline or connected to the Internet
- Select a device to view its location on a map. You can play a sound, activate Lost Mode or Erase iPhone
- Turn on Lost Mode – this will allow you to remotely lock your device with a passcode, display a custom message with your phone number on your missing device’s Lock screen, and monitor your device’s location*
Google recently introduced a new setting for 2-Step Verification (2SV). They are hoping the new setting called ‘Google prompt’ will make it easier for more people to use multi-factor authentication security. Currently, 2SV allows you tap a Security Key (such as the U2F YubiKey) as well as entering a verification code sent to your mobile phone. You can also use the Google Authenticator app.
Google prompt allows you to approve by tapping a ‘Yes’ prompt that will pop up on your mobile phone. You can access 2-Step Verification from your computer, Android device or iPhone, but only if you have a Google account. In addition Android devices will require the latest Google Play Services (2SV is part of Play Services) and iPhone 5S or later the Google Search app.
It’s important to note that the Google prompt setting is designed as an alternative second step to either using a Security Key or receiving a voice or text message.
The process below is the same whether you use an Android device, iPhone 5S (or later) or computer.
How to enable Google prompt
- Settings > Google > Sign in & security > Sign in to Google https://myaccount.google.com/security
Activation Lock is securely stored on Apple’s activation server’s and links to your device. Your password will be required before anyone can turn off Find My iPhone, erase your device, or reactivate and use your device.
Activation Lock is enabled automatically when you use Find My iPhone on a device running iOS 7 or later. Find My iPhone Activation Lock requires your Apple ID and password before anyone else can do the following:
- Turn off Find My iPhone on your device
- Erase your device
- Reactivate and use your device
Find My iPhone can be used to erase your device remotely, however Activation Lock will still be activated after a device wipe. This adds an additional layer of protection in the event someone attempts to reactivate your device without your permission. Also, if you plan on giving away your device you should turn off Find My iPhone. This ensures that the new owner can use your device as normal.
OS X Server includes a VPN service. It is very easy to setup VPN, but if you Google fu, you might find different methods, which can be confusing. This post will show you one method, that clears the confusion and should have you up and running in quick time.
In this example, we are going to use a Mac Mini with OS X Server 5.0.x that has already been setup as a .local server. We will be configuring the server using the L2TP/IPSec tunnelling protocol. This isn’t as secure as OpenVPN, but IPSec encryption/decryption occurs at the kernel level with added advantage of multi-threading over OpenVPN. So, it’s a secure enough starting point.
Note: OS X Server 5.0.x supports OS X Yosemite v10.10.5 or OS X El Capitan v10.11.1.
Follow my instructions below, and you will be up and running in about 15 minutes.
Change .local server to .private to use VPN (if you haven’t already):
- Launch Server.app > Edit host name
- Click > Next then Check option > Local Network and VPN > Next
- Edit Host Name: example.private (edit the ‘example’ server name)
- Click > Finish
Apple iOS devices* support a useful data security feature called ‘Erase Data’. This feature if enabled (and you use a passcode), will erase all your iOS data after 10 failed passcode attempts. Enabling this feature should be a priority, especially if you lose your device.
The 10 times failed passcode attempts is consecutive, not cumulative and performs the same data erase as General > Reset > Erase all content and settings. Here is how you enable ‘Erase Data’:
- Open > Settings > Tap > ‘Passcode’ option (see note below)
- Turn the toggle on next to ‘Erase Data’
- Confirm the change and tap > Enable button
Note: If you use Touch ID, this option is called ‘Touch ID & Passcode’
IMPORTANT: In the event, you accidentally erase your iOS device, it’s a good idea to regularly backup your device in iTunes, so you can recover your data.
How do you recover your data to your iOS device?
The encryption key will be deleted on the device when using the ‘Erase Data’ feature. You will then be forced into recovery mode to continue with restoring your iOS device, which can be done from a recent iTunes backup. If you don’t backup up your iOS device, your device will be restored as new.