How to use Find My iPhone Activation Lock

findmyiphoneiOS Find My iPhone includes a feature called Activation Lock. This is designed to prevent anyone apart from you from using your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch in the event it is lost or stolen.

Activation Lock is securely stored on Apple’s activation server’s and links to your device. Your password will be required before anyone can turn off Find My iPhone, erase your device, or reactivate and use your device.

Activation Lock is enabled automatically when you use Find My iPhone on a device running iOS 7 or later. Find My iPhone Activation Lock requires your Apple ID and password before anyone else can do the following:

  • Turn off Find My iPhone on your device
  • Erase your device
  • Reactivate and use your device

Find My iPhone can be used to erase your device remotely, however Activation Lock will still be activated after a device wipe. This adds an additional layer of protection in the event someone attempts to reactivate your device without your permission. Also, if you plan on giving away your device you should turn off Find My iPhone. This ensures that the new owner can use your device as normal.

Remember, if you forget your Apple ID password you can reset if at your Apple ID account page. If this isn’t possible you can contact Apple Support and verify your identity.

Safe surfing folks!

Julian

This entry was posted in apple, mobile, privacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *