Google Plus shared endorsements on ads

Google_plus_iconGoogle last week announced a new feature (policy change) called ‘Shared Endorsements”, which aims to show my Google Plus users’ products preferences alongside ads within my social network. Now, I’m not entirely against this, because I only ever use my Google+ account for business purposes.  Will Google note this and refuse to promote my profile likes, dislikes and comments? I’ll leave my readers to work this one out. See bootnote.

How does Shared Endorsements work?

If I review a video on YouTube or leave a comment about a restaurant I’ve just visited, I might see my name, photo and comment in ads appear on another website that uses Google’s display advertising network. Also, if you use Google’s +1 button (which is the same as Facebook’s ‘like’ button), then your endorsement will also appear on the Internet. Product endorsements from family and friends are a major pulling factor for the advertising companies right now, especially given they are eager to monetize their global audiences.

Right now, given I use my Google Plus account for business, maybe Google and the ad networks will use me to promote their ad networks products and services relevant to my industry. Is this allowed? given this could affect my companies reputation. Maybe I need to commence with a reputation analysis programme to re-establish my personal and company online identity? Maybe, maybe not. Even so, if you use Google Plus for personal and business use, I’d be worried about your reputation and privacy.

If for personal or business reasons, you don’t want to be a part of a social advertising network experiment, then you can opt out of the ads, which excludes people under the age of 18. If you have a Google account and want to maintain your privacy then you should read on.

How to turn on or off shared endorsements on ads:

  • Sign into your Google account. If you came to this page while still creating your account, finish that process first, then come back here.
  • Go to the Shared Endorsements setting page. If you are not already a Google+ user, you will be asked to upgrade your account.
  • To allow people to see your name and photo in shared endorsements appearing in ads, check the box next to “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.” Then, click the “Save” button to save your new setting.
  • If you’d like to disable this setting, just uncheck the box and click “Save.” Remember, unchecking the box means that Google won’t be able to share your recommendations with your friends in some cases where they might otherwise see and benefit from them.

This new feature takes effect on November 11th.

For further information, you might want to read more about Google Plus shared endorsements.

Safe surfing folks!

Bootnote: Facebook also has a similar feature called “Sponsored Stories” which uses the ‘like’ button to collate your endorsements.

This entry was posted in google, privacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *