Facebook removes Timeline search privacy setting

Facebook 150x150 logoFacebook is removing the feature “Who can look up your Timeline by name”. The removal of this feature was started last year, with people who were not using the “Who can look me up?” privacy setting. This setting allows you to hide from searches performed by anyone who is not a friend or friends of friends.

Facebook claimed few people used it. This setting though, only applied to Search, so if anyone wanted to find my name in a Facebook post they could jump to my Timeline. I was one who does use this feature, so it’s still enabled for me as of now but over the next couple of weeks I will see a reminder that it will be removed.

This move, is all to do with the new Graph Search tool, which is claimed will allow Facebook users more natural language searches. Graph Search doesn’t work well if “Who can look up your Timeline by name” is enabled. This search improvement helps you the user but it also provides valuable profile analytics to Facebook. After all, they need to monetize from you as you are using a free service, and not forgetting they are also a US stock market trading company.

What should you do?

You should review your privacy settings so that only your friends can see what you post. If you want to learn more about these settings, then I’ve written many posts on here. Just search “Facebook”.

How to manage your privacy settings:

  • Click on the gear settings (top right) then Privacy Setting
  • In “Who can see my stuff?” you should change the default setting for future posts
  • Remember: You changed this setting inline when you posted – this setting can change when you post a reply i.e. The tool remembers the audience you shared with the last time you posted something, and uses the same audience when you share again unless you change it

Lastly, be vigilant over the coming weeks as phishing emails will look to exploit this privacy change. Do NOT click on any links in emails or SMS to Facebook. You should type Facebook.com into your browser bar. If you want total privacy, delete your Facebook account.

Safe surfing folks!

This entry was posted in facebook, malware, privacy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *