The Facebook ‘Like’ button which appears on my website and many others is provided as a means of recommending specific content to others. This isn’t a privacy issue, however the major privacy discussion amongs my collegues is that of Facebook Connect – what is this monolith collecting from our surfing habits? Facebook Connect has sharing tools that let it track where you are on the web, even when you’re logged out of your account. You’ve probably noticed this while surfing the web. You don’t have a choice when it comes to Facebook following you all over the web – or do you?
You can indeed stop Facebook Connect (using the ‘Like’ button) from tracking you, by using a simple browser add-on called Facebook Disconnect (http://disconnect.me/facebook). This useful tool prevents websites sending your data back to Facebook. Access to websites including Facebook will not be affected by using this tool. Once you have completed your browser session your session data will be deleted and Facebook will be unable to keep following you across the web.
Visit Facebook Disconnect and download the browser plugin which is available for Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Safari. Enjoy!
Safe surfing folks!