Learn more about Facebook security

Facebook has been in the news for privacy issues recently. For those of you who use Facebook we suggest consider the following safety options:

Search engine security: This is how you STOP search engines from accessing your profile publicly available information and any information visible to Everyone:

  • Go to ‘settings’
  • Then ‘privacy’
  • Then ‘search’ and uncheck ‘Public search results’.

Now your Facebook profile is removed from search engine indexing.

Child/Teen security: Facebook users should bookmark the ClickCEOP service (UK only) or add it as an application by going to http://www.facebook.com/clickceop. An automatic advert for ClickCEOP also appears on the homepage of every Facebook user listed as between 13 and 18 years old.

Third-party application security: Be extra careful when using third-party applications that ask for your personal and financial data. There have been some reported instances of hackers exploiting these applications to harness your personal and financial data.

Browser security: Facebook cannot guarantee that every link that is posted is safe and trusted. Our advice is to use a safe browsing tool i.e. WOT, Finjan Secure Browser, McAfee SiteAdvisor

Password security: Facebook does not ask users to update their passwords in an e-mail. If users have questions about their password or wish to change it, they are advised to go to the Website directly.

Spam and chain mail security: ID Theft Protect suggests you refer to the Facebook blog here for information on the chain mail threat.

Lastly, what happens if you want remove your profile from Facebook?

How to delete your profile: Facebook has made stopping and deleting your account much clearer now. So to:

*Facebook currently stores ‘deleted’ profiles for 90 days. This is referred to as a ‘backup’ copy. It’s worth noting that this data is not available to others.

Facebook also saves the profile information of users who elect to deactivate their accounts so that the users can easily reactivate their profiles later. Users who opt to delete their account get exactly what they wish for; it is permanently deleted.

Safe surfing folks!

This entry was posted in facebook, identity theft: identity fraud. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *